Sebastian Felix Ernst,
Sabine Scho,
Theresa Stroetges
(Golden Diskó Ship)

Sebastian Felix Ernst lives and works in Berlin. The architect and designer is the founder of E R N S T Office for Architecture. Before this, he was one of the co-founders and members of FAKT Architekten (until 2019). His creative work lies in the area where architecture, academics and art overlap. His past research projects have focused on manufacturing, rule-based design and urbanism, as well as the problems and potential of today's global mass production, its norms and standards and its relationship with architecture.

The author and photographer Sabine Scho lived in São Paulo from 2006 to 2014 and now lives in Berlin. All of her texts are located in the area where the written word meets photography, drawing and pictures. Recent publications: Animals in Architecture (KOOKbooks, 2013), The Origin of Senses in cooperation with Andreas Töpfer (Museum für Naturkunde Berlin, 2015). Awards: Deutscher Preis für Nature Writing (2018), amongst others. Visiting professor at the Deutsches Literaturinstitut Leipzig 2018/19.

Theresa Stroetges (Golden Diskó Ship) is a musician and sound artist and lives in Berlin. She has won residencies in France, Portugal, Lithuania and India, amongst others. She has performed her music projects Golden Diskó Ship, Soft Grid and Epiphany Now live throughout Europe as well as the rest of the world. In collaborations with performance, dance, live poetry, video, film and installation artists, she explores various ways of breaking up the conventional performance practices and blurring the boundaries between genres.

Palazzettino — House for a Boxer (2021)

Architecture and sound installation

In battle and in architecture, gravity always wins. When 'The Boxer', an ancient bronze sculpture, was excavated on the south side of the Quirinal Hill in Rome in 1885, its subject looked 'as if he were awakening again after an extended pause of fight.' Sitting heavily on the ground, he is still waiting for his next round to begin. In contrast, the Palazzetto dello Sport built by Pier Luigi Nervi for the 1960 Olympic Games from 1,620 prefabricated elements appears to defy gravity. These two Roman icons are imagined and brought together in the form of a cupola building, twelve poems and twelve music tracks, the maximum number of rounds now permitted in professional boxing. Enveloped by a palazzettino woven from carbon bars, the boxer from the Quirinal is given a new home in an architectural sound-poetry installation that can either be seen as a cage or as a protective space, and gives rise to the question: When may I / fight again or do I / have to fight again, already?

Installation / Architecture/palazzettino: Sebastian Felix Ernst - ERNST office for architecture
Idea and poems:  Sabine Scho
Music tracks:  Golden Diskó Ship

Verlag Hatje Cantz has published a book and CD on the project for German Academy Rome Villa Massimo:
Haus für einen Boxer / Casa per un Pugile / House for a Boxer
by Sabine Scho / Sebastian Felix Ernst /
Golden Diskó Ship

It features an essay, poems, photographs of the bronze boxer taken inside the Palazzo Massimo, the international World Boxing Council (WBC) super-featherweight title fight in Rome in 2020, the San Lorenzo boxing club, the palazzettino and its construction, with drawings, models and historical photos of Pier Luigi Nervi's Palazzetto dello Sport from the Maxxi museum's archive, with original audio material of boxing matches and sparring sessions, and readings of poems.

 

  • Test set up, Tempelhofer Feld (2021)

    Test set up, Tempelhofer Feld (2021)

    Video 3’5’’, Christina Kerber

    read more
  • Villa Massimo at Neuhardenberg Castle

    Villa Massimo at Neuhardenberg Castle

    The winners of the renowned Rome Prize 2019/2020 will present works in an exhibition, in performances and in concerts from September 4th to October 31st.

    read more

Sebastian Felix Ernst,
Sabine Scho,
Theresa Stroetges
(Golden Diskó Ship)

Sebastian Felix Ernst lebt und arbeitet in Berlin. Der Architekt und Designer ist Gründer von E R N S T Office for Architecture. Zuvor war er Mitgründer und bis 2019 Mitglied von FAKT Architekten. Sein Schaffensbereich liegt in der Schnittmenge von architektonischer, akademischer und künstlerischer Arbeit. Er forschte u.a. zum Thema der Fabrikation, regelbasiertem Design und Urbanismus sowie zu den Problemen und Potenzialen der zeitgenössischen globalen Massenproduktion, ihren Normen und Standards und ihrem Verhältnis zur Architektur.

Die fotografierende Autorin Sabine Scho, lebte von 2006 bis 2014 in São Paulo, heute in Berlin. Alle ihre Texte sind im Grenzbereich zu Fotografie, Zeichnung und Bild angesiedelt. Zuletzt erschienen: Tiere in Architektur (KOOKbooks, 2013), The Origin of Senses zusammen mit Andreas Töpfer (Museum für Naturkunde Berlin, 2015). Auszeichnungen: u.a. Deutscher Preis für Nature Writing (2018). Gastprofessorin am Deutschen Literaturinstitut Leipzig 2018/19

Theresa Stroetges (Golden Diskó Ship) ist Musikerin und Klangkünstlerin und lebt in Berlin. Sie erhielt unter anderem Stipendien für Aufenthalte in Frankreich, Portugal, Litauen und Indien. Mit ihren Musikprojekten Golden Diskó Ship, Soft Grid und Epiphany Now trat sie europaweit und international live auf. In Kollaborationen mit Künstlerinnen und Künstlern aus den Bereichen Performance, Tanz, Live-Poetry, Video, Film und Installation verfolgt sie Möglichkeiten des Aufbrechens konventioneller Aufführungspraktiken und Genregrenzen.

Palazzettino. Haus für einen Boxer (2021)

Architektur- und Soundinstallation

Im Kampf und in der Architektur gewinnt immer die Schwerkraft. Als man den Boxer, eine der seltenen antiken Bronzeskulpturen, 1885 am Südhügel des Quirinals in Rom ausgrub, wirkte er, «als erwache er nach einer langen Kampfpause wieder.» Sitzend und erdschwer wartet er noch immer auf seinen nächsten Einsatz. Der Palazzetto dello Sport, von Pier Luigi Nervi für die olympischen Spiele von 1960 aus 1.620 Fertigteilen erbaut, scheint hingegen der Schwerkraft zu trotzen. Diese zwei Ikonen Roms werden zusammengedacht und -gebracht in einer Kuppel-Architektur, 12 Gedichten und Musiktracks, der heutzutage maximal gekämpften Rundenzahl beim Profiboxen. Umschlossen von einem aus Carbonstäben geflochtenen Palazzettino erhält der Boxer vom Quirinal in einer architektonischen Klang-Gedicht-Installation ein neues Zuhause, das zwischen Käfig und Schutzraum die Frage aufwirft: Wann darf ich wieder / kämpfen oder muss ich / jetzt schon wieder?

Architektur/Palazzettino: Sebastian Felix Ernst - ERNST office for architecture
Idee und Gedichte: Sabine Scho
Musiktracks: Golden Diskó Ship

Zu dem Projekt erscheint eine Buchpublikation mit CD im Verlag Hatje Cantz, herausgegen von Deutsche Akademie Rom Villa Massimo:

Haus für einen Boxer / Casa per un Pugile / House for a Boxer
von Sabine Scho, Sebastian Felix Ernst, Golden Diskó Ship

Mit einem Essay, Gedichten, Fotos aus dem Palazzo Massimo vom Bronzeboxer, dem Internationalen Titel des World Boxing Council (WBC) im Superfedergewicht Rom 2020, des Boxclubs San Lorenzo, dem Palazzettino und seinem Aufbau, mit Zeichnungen, Modellen und historischen Fotos vom Palazzetto dello Sport von Pier Luigi Nervi aus dem Maxxi-Archiv, mit Original-Tonmaterial von Boxkämpfen und Trainings und eingelesenen Gedichten.

  • Testaufbau, Tempelhofer Feld (2021)

    Testaufbau, Tempelhofer Feld (2021)

    Video 3’5’’, Christina Kerber

    Weiterlesen
  • Villa Massimo zu Gast auf Schloss Neuhardenberg

    Villa Massimo zu Gast auf Schloss Neuhardenberg

    Die Trägerinnen und Träger des renommierten Rompreises des Jahrgangs 2019/2020 präsentieren Arbeiten in einer Ausstellung, in Leseperformances und in Konzerten vom 4. September bis 31. Oktober.

    Weiterlesen