FAMED

Sebastian M. Kretzschmar and Jan Thomaneck collaborate as an artist duo and live in Leipzig. They use a wide range of media for their works, which consider issues such as identity and productivity as well as presence in the context of space and society. Solo exhibitions: Kunstverein Braunschweig, Kunstmuseum St. Gallen, Museum der bildenden Künste Leipzig, amongst others. Visiting professorships at the Kunsthochschule Kassel and the Academy of Fine Arts Nuremberg.

The Fountain (2021)

Sculpture made of acrylic, LED and steel

During the baroque period and absolutism, landscaped gardens and parks served the showcasing of rulership and wealth; today, they belong to the cultural landscape and are accessible to the public. What looks so natural is actually the result of a meticulously curated cultivation, involving especially the construction of artificial ponds, riverbeds and bridges, of paths and sight lines as well as the integration of architecture and monuments. A central element of the Neuhardenberg castle park is the picturesque man-made pond that features an island with an old willow tree. However, when the park was designed, a fountain was intentionally not included, despite the fact that it would have met the desire for prestigiousness. Fountains now often serve as places to meet, day trip destinations or landmarks.

The light sculpture 'The Fountain', installed in the middle of the pond, embodies a fountain. The material alone already creates a stark contrast to the naturalness of the environment and the classicist monuments in the park. The sculpture has been fashioned from yellow acrylic, and is illuminated by LEDs. The shape and colours form a copy of the McDonald's logo, with arches that cross at a 90 degree angle. The McDonald's logo is one of the world's most widely known symbols. The brand's business model stands for uniformity, the fast pace of our times, consumerism and globalisation. There is hardly another image that could be in starker contrast to a historic landscaped park.

Yet the sculpture nevertheless blends in well with the castle complex. When viewed from several viewpoints along the banks of the pond, the golden arches look like a fountain. At the same time, they follow the shape of the willow. The work picks up on the idea of an artificial structure that blends into nature and also references the tense relationship between high and pop culture, between product aesthetics and nature experiences, through the abstraction of the brand logo. A design element that introduces the present in a radical yet also aesthetic way is added to the landscaped park, which could be considered to represent an alternative parallel world to our modern, mundane urban lives.

  • Villa Massimo at Neuhardenberg Castle

    Villa Massimo at Neuhardenberg Castle

    The winners of the renowned Rome Prize 2019/2020 will present works in an exhibition, in performances and in concerts from September 4th to October 31st.

    read more

FAMED

Sebastian M. Kretzschmar und Jan Thomaneck arbeiten als Künstlerduo und leben in Leipzig. Ihre medial vielfältigen Werke verhandeln Themenkomplexe wie Identität und Produktivität sowie Präsenz im Kontext von Raum und Gesellschaft. Einzelausstellungen: u.a. Kunstverein Braunschweig, Kunstmuseum St. Gallen, Museum der bildenden Künste Leipzig. Gastprofessuren an der Kunsthochschule Kassel und der Akademie der Bildenden Künste Nürnberg.

The Fountain (2021)

Skulptur aus Acryl, LED und Stahl 

Gartenanlagen und Parks standen im Barock und Absolutismus für die Repräsentation von Herrschaft und Wohlstand und gehören heute zur öffentlich zugängigen Kulturlandschaft. Was so natürlich erscheint, ist das Ergebnis einer planerischen Kultivierung, besonders durch die Anlage von künstlichen Teichen, Flussläufen und Brücken, von Wegen und Blickachsen sowie der Integration von Architektur und Denkmälern. Ein zentrales Element des Schlossparks Neuhardenberg ist der malerisch angelegte Teich mit einer alten Weide auf einer Insel. Auf einen Springbrunnen wurde bei der Anlage des Parks allerdings verzichtet, obwohl er das Bedürfnis auf Repräsentation hätte untermauern können. Heute dienen Springbrunnen oft als Treffpunkte, Ausflugsziele oder Orientierungspunkte.

Die inmitten des Teichs installierte Lichtskulptur The Fountain verkörpert einen Springbrunnen. Schon das Material steht im Widerspruch zur Naturhaftigkeit der Umgebung und zu den klassizistischen Denkmälern im Park. Sie ist aus gelbem Vollacryl gefertigt, das durch LED zum Leuchten gebracht wird. Gestalt und Farbe ergeben ein dupliziertes McDonald’s-Logo, dessen Bögen um 90 Grad ineinander verschränkt sind.

Das Logo von McDonald’s gehört zu den bekanntesten Symbolen weltweit. Die Marke steht mit ihrem Geschäftsmodell für Gleichförmigkeit, Schnelllebigkeit, Konsum und Globalisierung. Kaum eine Symbolik könnte einen stärkeren Kontrast in einem historischen Landschaftspark darstellen.

Dennoch fügt sich die Skulptur in das Ensemble ein. Die goldenen Bögen können von mehreren Standpunkten am Ufer aus als Fontäne wahrgenommen werden. Gleichzeitig korrespondieren sie mit dem Wuchs der Weide. Die Idee einer künstlichen Struktur, die sich in die Natur einfügt, wird aufgegriffen und verweist durch die Abstraktion des Markenlogos zugleich auf das Spannungsverhältnis zwischen Hoch- und Popkultur, zwischen Warenästhetik und Naturerleben. Der Landschaftspark, der als eine Gegenwelt zum Alltag und dem modernen städtischen Leben gelten kann, erhält ein gestalterisches Element, das auf radikale, aber ebenso ästhetische Weise die Gegenwart hereinholt.

  • Villa Massimo zu Gast auf Schloss Neuhardenberg

    Villa Massimo zu Gast auf Schloss Neuhardenberg

    Die Trägerinnen und Träger des renommierten Rompreises des Jahrgangs 2019/2020 präsentieren Arbeiten in einer Ausstellung, in Leseperformances und in Konzerten vom 4. September bis 31. Oktober.

    Weiterlesen