FAKT

FAKT - Office for Architecture was established by three architects in Berlin in 2013. Sebastian Kern, Martin Tessarzand Jonas Tratz focus on design questions, from architectural objects to urbanistic projects, as well as academic issues. In the course of this work, FAKT looks for precise answers; the project identification is always accompanied by reflections on the system, innovation and identity.

No Title (2020/2021)

Aluminium, 5 × 5 × 0.2m

A light structure floats above the ground, apparently defying gravity. Plants grow underneath it, on it and also through it. The pearlescent as well as permeable deck functions as a subtle filter and permits both rain and also light to reach the ground — a new kind of terrace, a minimally invasive place to linger surrounded by dense nature.

Neither clearly manifest architecture nor untouched flora: The structure is a 1:1 prototype of a deck planned for the Villa Almone in Rome, and toys with the question of a different kind of architecture, a delicate overlayering that permits simultaneousness, that both defines the space and makes it usable yet nevertheless does not completely overwrite it. Another, more mindful and careful approach to the existing, the conservation of natural resources and a continuation of the present qualities in the form of a new spatial experience.

Developed for a site in the south-east of the park of the Villa Almone — the residence of the German ambassador in Rome — the lightweight structure, designed to be constructed from aluminium, extends a small, crumbling outbuilding at the back of the garden. A vacant, unused building like this in an enclosed landscaped park offers unique possibilities in terms of its use for new, completely different purposes. Once some of the later additions have been removed, the existing, plain utilitarian building can function as a raw shared space for German-Roman cultural institutions. Extended with an ephemeral deck as a stage and experimental planted areas, this 'garden gallery' can be used all year round for a wide range of different cultural events: A new public space in an enclosed park.

A prototype of the ephemeral deck for this Roman 'garden gallery' will be shown for the first time in the Neuhardenberg castle park. As a symbol of the fleeting and an example for a merely minimal overlayering of nature, it is not accessible to visitors but exhibited in an exposed location on the island by the weir.

  • Villa Massimo at Neuhardenberg Castle

    Villa Massimo at Neuhardenberg Castle

    The winners of the renowned Rome Prize 2019/2020 will present works in an exhibition, in performances and in concerts from September 4th to October 31st.

    read more

FAKT

FAKT - Office for Architecture wurde 2013 in Berlin gegründet. Die drei Architekten – Sebastian Kern, Martin Tessarz und Jonas Tratz – beschäftigen sich mit gestalterischen Fragestellungen vom architektonischen Objekt bis hin zu urbanistischen Projekten ebenso wie mit akademischen Aufgaben. In seiner Arbeit sucht FAKT nach präzisen Antworten, die Projektfindung wird begleitet von einem Nachdenken über System, Innovation und Identität.

Ohne Titel (2020/2021)

Skulptur aus Aluminium, 5 x 5 x 0,2 m 

Eine leichte Struktur schwebt scheinbar schwerelos über dem Erdboden. Pflanzen wachsen darunter, daran und auch hindurch. Als leichter Filter erlaubt das schimmernde und durchlässige Deck sowohl Regen als auch Licht den Erdboden zu erreichen – eine neue Art von Terrasse als minimal-invasiver Aufenthaltsort inmitten dichter Natur.

Weder eindeutig manifestierte Architektur noch unberührte Pflanzenwelt: Als 1:1-Prototyp eines für die Villa Almone in Rom geplanten Decks spielt die Struktur mit Fragen einer anderen Art der Architektur, einer filigranen Überlagerung, die eine Gleichzeitigkeit zulässt, den Raum sowohl programmiert und nutzbar macht, aber dennoch nicht komplett überschreibt. Ein anderer, ein aufmerksamer und bedächtiger Umgang mit dem Vorhandenen, Erhalt natürlicher Ressourcen und ein Fortschreiben der gefundenen Qualitäten als neues räumliches Erlebnis.

Entwickelt für einen Standort im Südosten des Parks der Villa Almone – der Residenz des Deutschen Botschafters in Rom – ergänzt die in Aluminium gedachte Leichtbaustruktur ein kleines, verfallenes Nebengebäude im hinteren Gartenteil, das durch seinen Leerstand in einer geschützten Parkanlage einmalige Möglichkeiten einer neuen programmatischen Bespielung bietet. Das vorgefundene, schlichte Nutzgebäude kann hier, von späteren Anbauten befreit, als roher Raum zu einem gemeinsamen Ort der deutsch-römischen Kulturinstitutionen werden. Erweitert um ein ephemeres Deck als Bühne und experimentelle Pflanzbereiche, bietet diese «Gartengalerie» ganzjährig verschiedenste kulturelle Nutzungen an: ein neuer öffentlicher Ort in einem umschlossenen Park.

Im Schlosspark von Neuhardenberg wird erstmals ein Prototyp des ephemeren Decks der römischen Gartengalerie gezeigt. Als Sinnbild des Vergänglichen und modellhaft für eine nur minimale Überlagerung der Natur ist er für den Besucher unzugänglich aber sichtbar auf der Insel am Wehr präsentiert.

  • Villa Massimo zu Gast auf Schloss Neuhardenberg

    Villa Massimo zu Gast auf Schloss Neuhardenberg

    Die Trägerinnen und Träger des renommierten Rompreises des Jahrgangs 2019/2020 präsentieren Arbeiten in einer Ausstellung, in Leseperformances und in Konzerten vom 4. September bis 31. Oktober.

    Weiterlesen