Camerata RCO

Camerata RCO

Members of the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra Amsterdam

Johannes Brahms, Serenade No. 1 D major, Op. 11 and other works

Elise Besemer, violin
Santa Vizine, viola
Johan van Iersel, violoncello
Olivier Thiery, double bass
Julie Moulin, flute
Hein Wiedijk, clarinet
Annemiek de Bruin, clarinet
Simon van Holen, bassoon
Katy Woolley, French horn
Annebeth Webb, violin

The world-famous Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra Amsterdam (RCO) on the chamber music stage: this unique experience is provided by the Camerata RCO, founded by members of that renowned ensemble. In various different combinations, the virtuosic orchestra musicians treat themselves and their audiences to the intimacy, individual interpretations and brilliance that make all the difference between small formations and large orchestras – provided, of course, that every single musician can contribute the essential level of excellence. This, and the perfect harmony of a well-rehearsed orchestra, makes performances by Camerata RCO always a very special experience. Johannes Brahms Serenade No. 1 was composed around 1857–1858. It is the result of the composer's intensive study of Mozart's serenades and Haydn's symphonies. The usually played final version for a 'small ensemble' premiered in Hanover in 1860. However, Brahms had initially written the piece as a nonet; this version was performed for the first time in Hamburg in 1859. It now exists only as a reconstruction and is therefore a genuine chamber music rarity. This 'light piece of music for the evening', which is the original meaning of a 'serenade', will be performed in the Neuhardenberg park as intended by the young Brahms, together with another composition.


  • Culture & Culinary

    Culture & Culinary

    Curtains up – enjoy everything Neuhardenberg Castle has to offer.

  • Picnic in the park

    Picnic in the park

    Order an opulent hamper for your picnic in the park (available May to September).